Google announced the scheduled end of the Google+ social network for non-enterprise users. Users have the next 10 months to move their data from Google+.
As part of this announcement, Google also stated that there was a bug in one of the Google+ People APIs that could have allowed data access to user data marked as private. This bug was noted and fixed by Google in March of 2018 and there was no evidence that this data was misused. Some of the optional user fields in this bug included name, email address, occupation, gender and age.
Google+ users who access it through G Suite will not be affected by this change. More information is available at the Google+ FAQ page.